Visas for Foreigners travelling to Greece

  • Press : Information
  • Last Updated: 03/03/2009
Greece follows the Schengen Agreement provisions and the subsequent acquis concerning short term visa issues.  Countries applying the Schengen acquis in full (EU countries: Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia,Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, plus associated countries: Iceland and Norway) follow a common visa policy for short-term stays of up to three (3) months in the Schengen area. The citizens of these countries are not subjected to border controls within the common area (airlines or other carriers require identification - I.D. Card or passport or any other piece of identification issued by a public authority).

The attached document contains a list of:

  • E.U. and other European countries whose citizens do not need a visa to enter Greece (and the Schengen area).
  • Non E.U. countries whose citizens wish to visit Greece (and the Schengen area), have a regular passport and stay up to 3 months (90 days) within a six (6) month period and a visa is required for them.


word Visas for foreigners travelling to Greece, DOC, 31.7 KB

Subject classification

Subjects: Schengen Agreement, Foreigners in Greece

Life Episodes: Travelling Abroad

Popular questions

Current announcements

View Article List